GoodJobPH: The Radio Interview

“I try to see interviewing as performance art, and just take it as it comes.” ~ Liz Phair

A friend was looking for a possible candidate to be interviewed on radio for a feature on Working Moms, so I grabbed the opportunity with a resounding YES! I’ve dreamed of being interviewed on air, and what better way to fulfill this dream than by talking about my passions and life as a working mother.


I was nervous leading up to interview day. I wasn’t sure if I was “good enough” resource material to be interviewed. I talked to my husband about my concerns, and he reassured me to just speak from the heart, and everything will follow. I agreed, but made him promise to tell no one (except a handful of close friends), so I wouldn’t have to deal with meeting certain expectations, and I can freely share anecdotes without offending anyone.

My husband drove me to the station early, and we chatted a bit with another interviewee. There were three of us working moms to go on board that day, and it helped to get that rapport started early so we would all be more comfortable with each other during the actual show.

The program started around 10:30am, and we all got a chance to tell our stories as working mothers. I told them about the juggling act, knowing your priorities, and setting up support systems, both at work and at home, that you can rely on when things get tough. I spoke about Breastfeeding as an advocacy, since August was Breastfeeding Month, and how this helped nurture bonds between moms and babies, and also cultivate emotional intelligence early on. It was empowering and exhilarating to speak about our lives as working mothers, and I hope I was able to reach out and tell others that this choice, to work and be a mother at the same time, is not easy… but believe, ask help, and pray. It can be done. 


Two hours went by fast, and before we knew it, the show was over! The adrenaline was so high, and my heart was beating fast the whole time, but I truly enjoyed the experience. 

I’m thankful for my family’s support, not just for this interview, but in taking care of Sofie as well. So I dedicate this interview to them, my rock and support system. Without them, I wouldn’t have believed that it could be done. So cheers to all working moms, and to all the families behind their success! 

Leave a Reply

