Sick Leave

“Life is difficult for everyone; everyone has bad days. Everyone has trouble in their life, because it doesn’t matter how rich you are: Sickness and trouble and worry and love, these things will mess with you at every level of life.” ~ Domhnall Gleeson

When I was single, I rarely had sick leaves. I still came to the office when I had fever or just sent some emails then had an early off for really bad flus. 


These days, when my daughter is sick, I have to leave everything behind (or at least compose a work around) so I can take a sick leave for her. Just like today. Cascades, presentations have to be postponed and delegated to the team. I have to exchange cars with my husband all the way to North Edsa because mine is coding for the day. A lot of sacrifices and juggling around, but I don’t complain. This is my choice, to prioritize my daughter and my family. Work comes second. I’m just thankful that my work allows me to send my output in emails and I have an understanding boss and dependable team.

For now, I’ll enjoy lunch with the husband and more quality time to take care of and be with my daughter. Thankful for the blessing of family and of work. 

Leave a Reply

