The Trouble with Long Weekends

By and large, mothers and housewives are the only workers who do not have regular time off. They are the great vacationless class. ~Anne Morrow Lindbergh

family-vacations-the-best

During my single days, I would always get excited about an upcoming long weekend. Finally, more time to catch up on my books or my favorite series. More time to go out with friends. And my favorite: more time to sleep!

But with parents, the long weekend comes double-edged. I only realize now that long weekends connote less rest and me-time for working moms, but this also means planning more activities for the kids not to get bored, and probably planning also for a mall or out-of-town trip for the surprise family bonding. Each choice would be fun for the kids, and slightly more costly for the parent planning.

Which brings me to my dilemma today: the APEC will host its activities next week, which means extra 3-days without work and a total of 5-day weekend with the family. Yay! or Nay?

The husband and I have been going back and forth on what to do for APEC vacation: Should we go south… Tagaytay maybe? Too much traffic, and it seems like everyone has the same idea. Should we go north? There’s a bit of a shortage in nearby tourist sports there; the nearest one is 4 hours away! Should we just go to a hotel and have a staycation? Ugh, hotel again?!?! I don’t think so. Should we go the mall? The baby will not do well with the crowds doing their christmas shopping either.

Whatever we choose, there’s always a pro and a con. And of course, the budget has to be considered. We’ll see whatever crops up in the next few days. But we must finalize plans and make the reservations soon! Long weekend is coming up!

Leave a Reply

