Review: The Power of a Positive Mom by Karol Ladd

The Power of a Positive Mom

Picked up a new book for this month’s #MommyReads: The Power of a Positive Mom by Karol Ladd. The book is a roadmap of principles to be a Positive Mom. Each of those principles are divided further over 2-3 chapters each. The Seven Principles of a Positive Mom are:

(1) The Power of Encouragement

(2)The Power of Prayer

(3)The Power of a Good Attitude

(4)The Power of Strong Relationships

(5)The Power of Your Example

(6)The Power of Strong Moral Standards

(7)The Power of Love and Forgiveness

I love that this book is such an easy read (I finished mine in four days, during my me-times). The principles are easy to understand and empowering for all working or stay-at-home moms. The book fills the reader with empowering messages to uplift the mom’s spirit and help her engage with her family and community. There are prayers and scriptural passages to anchor on each principle, and the reader can use these to reflect on her own personal journey as a mother.

So, what did I learn from this book?

Be sincere with praise and encouragement.
Know your children. Find out what they are good at.
Be thankful for what you have.
Love your husband, respect him, enjoy him.
Treasure your friendships
Create traditions and memories.
Read great books to your kids.
Be patient. Complain less, but count your blessings more.
Discipline your child on the 3 d’s: disobedience, disrespect, dishonesty.

I hope that I can remember all the principles in this book, to keep the faith and pray for God’s strength and guidance. When doubts come, I need to trust my instincts and pray that I may be able to have a positive impact on my family. When times get tough, I know that I only have to remain positive, because I am a Mom and I can shape my family’s future if everything is done with Faith and Love.

Leave a Reply

